The independent resource on global security

Perspectives on the arms control agenda in 2021: Obstacles and opportunities

Perspectives on the arms control agenda in 2021: Obstacles and opportunities
Photo: Flickr/ IAEA Imagebank
-

The event will be held in a virtual format at 15:00 (Stockholm) // 09:00 (New York) // 16:00 (Moscow) // 21:00 (Beijing)

The arms control agenda in 2021 is facing a wide range of challenges needing urgent attention, such as the Iran nuclear deal and the Nuclear Non-Proliferation Treaty (NPT). With a new administration now in place in the United States, there are ambitious plans for a renewed commitment to international cooperation, particularly with regard to arms control.

The conversation will explore the current state of nuclear arms control and disarmament efforts, looking ahead to the NPT Review Conference in August. It will also be an opportunity to discuss the latest developments in the control of chemical and biological weapons, emerging technologies and international arms transfers.

Panellists

HE Izumi Nakamitsu, United Nations Under- Secretary-General and High Representative for Disarmament Affairs

Major General (Retd) Yao Yunzhu, Academic Committee Member, Center for International Security and Strategy (CISS), Tsinghua University

Dr Andrey Kortunov, Director General, Russian International Affairs Council

Opening remarks

Ambassador Jan Eliasson, Chair of the SIPRI Governing Board

Moderator

Dan Smith, Director of SIPRI

 

Watch the discussion on SIPRI's YouTube channel.

 

Event contact (SIPRI)