The independent resource on global security

Governing Board

Jan Eliasson

Jan Eliasson


Ambassador Jan Eliasson is a Swedish diplomat and, as of 1 June 2017, the Chairman of the SIPRI Governing Board. He was Deputy Secretary-General of the United Nations from July 2012 to December 2016 and Sweden's Minister for Foreign Affairs in 2006. Furthermore, he was President of the 60th session of the UN General Assembly in 2005–06; the UN Secretary-General’s Special Envoy for Darfur in 2007–08; the first UN Under-Secretary-General for Humanitarian Affairs, 1992–94; and participated, 1980–86, in the UN mission mediating in the Iran–Iraq War, which was headed by former Prime Minister Olof Palme of Sweden.

Dan Smith

Dan Smith

SIPRI Director

Dan Smith is the Director of SIPRI. He has a long record of research and publication on a wide range of conflict and peace issues such as nationalism, identity politics, armed conflicts, ethics of intervention, gender aspects of conflict and peace building. In recent years, his work has broadened to encompass other contemporary issues such as the relationship between climate change and insecurity, peace and security issues in the Middle East and global conflict trends. Smith has served four years in the UN Peacebuilding Fund Advisory group, two of which (2010–2011) were as Chair.

Smith has an intimate knowledge of how peacebuilding works (or doesn’t) in a wide variety of countries and regions. He is also a renowned scholar and analyst on and is Professor of Peace & Conflict, University of Manchester, attached to Humanitarian and Conflict Response Institute (0.2 FTE) since January 2014. He is the author of successive editions of atlases of politics, war and peace, with a special focus on the Middle East and blogs on international politics at

He has lived most of his adult life in the UK with a 10-year spell in Norway. He has travelled professionally to more than 60 countries.

Dewi Fortuna Anwar photo

Dr Dewi Fortuna Anwar

Deputy Secretary for Political Affairs to the Vice President of the Republic of Indonesia

Professor Dr Dewi Fortuna Anwar is currently Deputy Secretary for Political Affairs to the Vice President of the Republic of Indonesia. She is a Research Professor and held the position of the Deputy Chairman for Social Sciences and Humanities at The Indonesian Institute of Sciences (LIPI) from 2001–10. She is also the Chair of the Institute for Democracy and Human Rights at the Habibie Center, and a member of the Board of Advisors, the Institute for Peace and Democracy, the Bali Democracy Forum. Anwar was a member of the UN Secretary General’s Advisory Board on Disarmament Matters (2008–12), a member of the Weapons of Mass Destruction Commission (WMDC), based in Stockholm, and a member of the International Advisory Board of the Asia-Pacific College of Diplomacy, ANU, Australia.

Vladimir Baranovsky photo

Dr Vladimir Baranovsky

Deputy Director, IMEMO

Dr Baranovsky is the Deputy Director of the premier Russian research institute, IMEMO, in Moscow, Chair of the Dissertation Council of the Institute of World Economy and International Relations, Vice President of the Association for Euro-Atlantic Cooperation, and a board member of the Russian Political Science Association. He has been a professor at the Moscow State Institute of International Relations since 1998 and is the author of more than 200 scientific works. He led SIPRI's Russia's Security Agenda Project from 1992 to 1996.

Ambassador Lakhdar Brahimi photo

Ambassador Lakhdar Brahimi

Member of the Elders; Former UN Special Adviser to the Secretary-General

Ambassador Lakhdar Brahimi is a former Algerian Foreign Minister and Ambassador and was the chair of the Panel on United Nations Peace Operations which produced the influential Brahimi Report. Brahimi has done extensive work in the field of conflict resolution, peacemaking, peacekeeping and has worked more generally on peace and security issues. He is currently a Visiting Fellow at the London School of Economics.

Ambassador Wolfgang Ischinger photo

Ambassador Wolfgang Ischinger

Chairman of the Munich Security Conference; Global Head of Government Relations, Allianz SE

Ambassador Wolfgang Ischinger is the Chairman of the Munich Conference on Security Policy. He is also Head of Government Relations at Allianz SE, Munich. Ischinger is one of the most senior German diplomats and in 2007 he was the EU Representative in the Troika negotiations on Kosovo. He has published widely on foreign policy as well as on European and transatlantic issues.

Espen Barth Eide

Espen Barth Eide

United Nations Special Adviser on Cyprus

Espen Barth Eide is a Norwegian politician and academic. He is currently United Nations Special Adviser on Cyprus, chairing the negotiations aimed at reunifying the divided island. From 20142016, he was Managing Director of the World Economic Forum (WEF) in Geneva and until October 2013 he was Norway’s Minister of Foreign Affairs. As well as his posts in government, Mr Eide has pursued an academic career in political science. From 19932000, he was a Senior Researcher at the Norwegian Institute of International Affairs (NUPI) and from 20022005, he directed the institute's Department of International Politics. Mr Eide is also a Vice Chair of the Humanitarian Dialogue Centre in Geneva, a Board Member of the Norwegian Institute of International Affairs in Oslo, as well as a Senior Adviser to the Center for Strategic and International Studies in Washington D.C.

Dr Radha Kumar photo

Dr Radha Kumar

Director General, Delhi Policy Group

Radha Kumar is Director General of the Delhi Policy Group, the first independent think tank in India. She is a specialist in ethnic conflicts, peacemaking and peacebuilding, often from a feminist perspective. She has written five books and numerous journal articles on the topic and holds a PhD from Jawaharlal Nehru University, India and an MA and BA from Cambridge University, UK. Previously, she has been on the Board of the UN Institute for Training and Research (UNITAR), the Foundation for Communal Harmony (India, Ministry of Home Affairs).