The independent resource on global security

EU arms embargo on the former SFR of Yugoslavia (Bosnia and Herzegovina)

In July 1991 the European Community and its member states decided to impose an arms embargo on the former Socialist Federal Republic of Yugoslavia. For a full record of the application of this embargo, please consult the database listing for the Federal Republic of Yugoslavia.

In September 1991 the United Nations Security Council decided to establish an arms embargo that applied to all of the territory of the former Yugoslavia in UNSC resolution 713.

In March 1998 a new Common Position (98/240/CFSP) was outlined according to which the embargo was extended so that not only conventional arms but also equipment "which might be used for internal repression or for terrorism" was embargoed.

In July 1999 Council Decision (1999/481/CFSP) lifted the embargo on exports of small arms to the police forces of Bosnia and Herzegovina and lifted the embargo on transfers of equipment needed for demining activities.

In October 2001 a new Common Position (2001/719/CFSP) lifted the arms embargo on the Federal Republic of Yugoslavia as well as removing other restrictive measures. The Council Decision (1999/481/CFSP) had only lifted the embargo for small arms for the police forces deployed on the territory of Bosnia-Herzegovina.

In January 2006 the arms embargo was completely lifted by Council Common Position 2006/29/CFSP.

Last updated on
Embargo type: EU embargoes
Entry into force:
Lifted: 23 January 2006
Establishing document: EC declaration