EN

COUNCIL DECISION 2012/225/CFSP

of 26 April 2012

amending Decision 2010/232/CFSP renewing restrictive measures against Burma/Myanmar

THE COUNCIL OF THE EUROPEAN UNION,

Having regard to the Treaty on European Union, and in particular Article 29 thereof,

Whereas:

- (1) On 26 April 2010, the Council adopted Decision 2010/232/CFSP (¹).
- (2) The Union has followed with respect and appreciation the historic changes in Burma/Myanmar over the past year and has encouraged the wide-ranging reforms to continue in a developing partnership with political and civil society actors. The Union has welcomed the concrete steps taken towards these ends.
- (3) In view of these developments and as a means to welcome and encourage the reform process, restrictive measures should be suspended with the exception of the arms embargo and the embargo on equipment which might be used for internal repression which should be retained.
- (4) Decision 2010/232/CFSP should be amended accordingly,

HAS ADOPTED THIS DECISION:

Article 1

Article 15 of Decision 2010/232/CFSP is hereby replaced by the following:

'Article 15

1. This Decision shall enter into force on the date of its adoption.

2. This Decision shall apply until 30 April 2013.

3. The measures referred to in Articles 3 to 13a shall be suspended until 30 April 2013.'.

Article 2

The persons listed in the Annex shall be removed from the list of persons in part J of Annex II to Decision 2010/232/CFSP.

Article 3

This Decision shall enter into force on the date of its adoption.

Done at Luxembourg, 26 April 2012.

For the Council The President M. BØDSKOV

 $^{(^1)\,}$ OJ L 105, 27.4.2010, p. 22.

EN

ANNEX

Persons referred to in Article 2

- 1. Thidar Zaw
- 2. Pye Phyo Tay Za
- 3. Ohn
- 4. Shwe Shwe Lin
- 5. Nan Than Htwe a.k.a Nan Than Htay
- 6. Nang Lang Kham a.k.a. Nan Lan Khan
- 7. Lo Hsing-han
- 8. San San Kywe
- 9. Nandar Hlaing
- 10. Aye Aye Maw
- 11. Nan Mauk Loung Sai a.k.a. Nang Mauk Lao Hsai
- 12. Than Than Nwe
- 13. Nay Soe
- 14. Theint Theint Soe
- 15. Sabai Myaing
- 16. Htin Htut
- 17. Htay Htay Khine (Khaing)
- 18. Sandar Tun
- 19. Aung Zaw Naing
- 20. Mi Mi Khaing
- 21. Moe Mya Mya
- 22. Thurane Aung a.k.a. Christopher Aung, Thurein Aung
- 23. Khin Phyone
- 24. Nyunt Nyunt Oo
- 25. Myint Myint Aye
- 26. Min Thein a.k.a. Ko Pauk
- 27. Tin Tin Latt
- 28. Wut Yi Oo
- 29. Capitain Htun Zaw Win
- 30. Yin Thu Aye
- 31. Yi Phone Zaw